Captain Beefheart

The Legendary A&M Sessions/The 1966 Demos & (The Complete) It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper sessions as a 2 CD set (proposal)

If A&M and Buddha are listening, I propose that to do proper justice to the Beefheart legacy perhaps…just perhaps…

1. The Legendary A&M Sessions should be combined with the 1966 Magic Band demos currently found on disc 1 of Grow Fins (Just Got Back From The City) which mostly have a sound quality almost as good as the A&M singles and would together make a very nice album documenting the music of the pre-Safe As Milk Magic Band:

The Legendary A&M Sessions​/The 1966 Demos
1. Diddy Wah Diddy
2. Who Do You Think You’re Fooling?
3. Moonchild
4. Frying Pan
5. Here I Am I Always Am (rejected single B-side version)
6. Obeah Man
7. Just Got Back From The City
8. I’m Glad (1966 demo)
9. Triple Combination
10. Here I Am I Always Am (early 1966 demo)
11. Here I Am I Always Am (late 1966 demo version)
They could also include the live cover versions from 1966 the Grow Fins disc 1…or not. I feel this would be something like the album CB & HMB would have made in 1966 with A&M had they not been dropped by the label.

Secondly Buddha could release a 2 CD/LP/download set properly putting out all of the It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper sessions material as one album once and for all. I am glad they released most of it as bonus tracks on the 1999 Cd re-issues of Safe As Milk and (The) Mirror Man (Sessions) but it would make a lot more sense to leave Safe As Milk alone, ending on Autumn’s Child as it should and putting out the complete unfinished album as one set with the 4 long Mirror Man album tracks as disc 1 and the other 13 finished and unfinished songs in something like the track order of the Sundazed LP It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper set (minus the audio problems like the glitch in Beatle Bones N’ Smokin’ Stones), as that track list flows together better like a real bums than the I May Be Hungry But I Sure Ain’t Weird version, which sounds more like a collection of out-takes. Also I understand that John French helped select the track order for the ICTYIAPBW LP.

I personally do prefer the 1999 running order of the original 4 Mirror Man tracks as opposed to the original 1971 running order, as it puts the one overdubbed and more composed, less improvised Kandy Korn last to better flow with the other shorter, more structured pieces.

My proposal is that the 2 CD set be called “It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper” (complete sessions) with the discs titled:

1. It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper part 1: Mirror Man​
2. It Comes To You In A Plain Brown Wrapper part 2: I May Be Hungry But I Sure Ain’t Weird

I feel this would be the best possible way to once and for all release this material in as close to the proper way as possible…..in the meantime this is how my WAV playlists in iTunes are set up to play these tracks….although I don’t have the second version of Moody Liz.

Leave a Reply

